As You May Have Noticed…

…that nice little plan I had for keeping a blog, to catalog my exercising and (hopefully) weight-loss program, didn’t exactly pan out. I suppose I’m not the most disciplined writer, that’s for damn sure, but in my defense I had a lot going on back then. In addition to the weight-loss program, I was also a full-time student (on the brink of graduation, no less), and I was working part-time up until March. Since my last post, I have officially graduated from Georgia Southern University, and boy is it strange. I now have a Bachelor’s degree in both English as well as Writing & Linguistics. Before you ask, I do not have a job yet (the reasons why are a very long story), nor do I have even the slightest clue as to what the hell I want to do next! I can’t even decide if I want/need to attend graduate school, and while I am damn tired of being asked (by both myself and others) “what’s next?” I am so relieved to have my TWO Bachelor’s degrees under my belt. I still don’t think it has really hit me yet, but that’s a whole other story.

These days I am working on a few other things. Mostly, I am trying to catch up on my reading. As the proud holder of a Bachelor’s degree in English, I feel like there are certain texts that I ought to have read along the way, but, for whatever reason, I have not. So I’m attempting to correct that, but progress is quite slow. I’ve also started cooking a bit in the past couple of months. Since my husband is still in school and does not get home until 6PM some nights, I figured the least I could do was have a hot meal ready for him when he gets here. Now, that hasn’t exactly panned out yet because my timing is WAY off. For some reason I always think I can get the chicken prepped MUCH faster than I can in reality, resulting in a very late dinner, sometimes as late as 8 or 9! I am getting better though…slowly but surely.

Once I began cooking, it only made sense for me to also begin cleaning. That’s right, I said BEGIN cleaning. The truth is, up until fairly recently, Troy is the one who took care of most (or all) of the household cooking and cleaning! I have no idea what the heck made him marry me, but we can rule out those two. Now, I’m still not doing as much as I’d like to, but that is largely due to being incapacitated by the surgery I had at the end of last month, and the side effects that followed said surgery. Any who, as I began cleaning, I was really bothered by the harsh chemicals (and their overpowering odors) that are commonly used for various purposes around our home. I remembered a friend of mine who makes her own laundry detergent for way cheaper than buying it from the store, and, after a little internet research, I had recipes for all kinds of useful stuff! Everything from homemade disinfectant for my kitchen and bathroom, to ear cleaning solution and oatmeal shampoo for the dogs! Not only is it much cheaper to make it at home, but it is also SUSTAINABLE! Unbelievable, I know! Most of what I’ve found calls for the same 5-ish ingredients or less, and the resulting cleaning solution is an all natural (and therefore pet/child safe) alternative. AND, if that isn’t Earth-friendly enough for you, I’m also reusing the old containers we accumulate over time whenever we run out of one thing or another. For instance, right now I have an empty ketchup, shampoo, hand soap refill, and spray Goo-Off bottle in my arsenal. After a thorough rinse to remove any leftover chemicals, these containers will be ready to begin their new, Earth-friendly life! I am so excited to try out all the great, natural cleaning recipes I’ve collected, and I’m expecting a delivery today containing some of my key ingredients: baking soda, borax, and Castile Soap. Vinegar is another MAJOR component to many homemade cleaning solutions. 

When I was looking into all this great stuff that you can make at home with ingredients most people already have around the house, I began researching how to make all natural soap at home. Unfortunately, a closer look at that made me realize how impractical that would be for me, and that Troy would never agree to it lol, so I abandoned that, but in exchange I am looking into essential oils—specifically, their applications in aromatherapy. It seems random, I know, but it’s not. A couple of the cleaners I found recipes for call for an essential oil, so I bought a bottle of it, and that is what led me to the soap making thing, which in turn took me to the aromatherapy aspect of essential oils. Any who, aromatherapy promises to remedy all kinds of common problems, everything from insomnia to acne! Since I now have these bottles of essential oils sitting around the house, I figured I might as well put them to good use, right? The problem is that aromatherapy—as far as I can tell thus far—is not exactly cheap. At the very least, I have to buy a small machine that dissipates the oils into the air (once I figure out which kind is the best and what makes it different from the other, cheaper ones), and more oils so I can mix them up to try more remedies. They have to be the THERAPEUTIC GRADE essential oils, which are more expensive than the food-grade ones, and telling the difference when purchasing them online isn’t always as simple as you may think. Hopefully I’ll find someone who is into this stuff and can help me figure out what I need to get started, and how it all works.

I plan to write posts on here every so often, to keep track of my progress, but more importantly to document my experiences with these homemade, all natural household cleaners/remedies. However, we all know how well I’m able to stick to my own plans, assuming I don’t forget that I’ve made them! Wish me luck!

P.S.

If you’re interested in finding out more about homemade, Earth-friendly products that you can make at home, leave me a comment that says specifically what you’d like more info on, and I’ll post some links that I’ve found helpful.

Leave a Reply

