New Year, New Me!

Okay so I know it’s been a while since my last post, but nonetheless I thought it would be a good idea for me to make another attempt at keeping up with a blog. Especially since I am about to make some major changes in my life. This way I can keep track of my thoughts and feelings as I begin the journey of self-improvement.

It all started last semester, in August 2012. I have been steadily gaining weight for a year or so and I decided to work out at the RAC 3-4 times per week. I started out really well, with the help of my wonderful husband, but as soon as midterms hit…forget about it! In my defense, I was taking 18 hours of classes then, so I reluctantly and gradually cut exercise back out of my routine, which resulted in regaining the 5 or 6 pounds I’d lost, and then some, for good measure.

I have been completely miserable and ashamed of my size all on my own, but then something inexplicable and hurtful started to happen to me: within four weeks I was asked at least four times something along the lines of “how far along are you?” “When are you due?” or “are you having a boy or a girl?”

I tried to brush it off and make a joke out of the misunderstanding, but boy did it hurt. It was awkward for them too, so I tried to laugh it off. Everyone from family to classmates to co-workers were so confident that I was pregnant that they asked me about it. And this was after I’d been exercising regularly and eating slightly better for at least a month. Talk about discouragement!

Any who, I pretty much gave up exercising after midterm hit and I spent every waking moment writing research papers. But the last time I went to the RAC I saw an advertisement for a weight-loss EDUCATION program. I got more info on it and applied. According to the description, this program is not aimed at shedding the most pounds in the shortest amount of time. Instead it’s goal is to teach me the tools I need to live a healthier life from now on! It’s exactly what I’ve wanted to learn for at least a year now, and the timing just might enable me to get into better shape in time for my graduation in May! I know I can’t lose all 50 pounds I’d eventually like to get rid of in just 4 months, but I think I can get a pretty good jump on it so that by the time I get my master’s degree I’ll be pretty smokin’.

Veggies Before   Veggies After

So far I have been accepted into the program and I have my physical scheduled for Monday morning. After I get my medical clearance, the next step is orientation before I begin my 10 week journey to a healthier, happier me. Up to now I have already made some healthier changes in my life. The end of June this summer will mark the 2 year anniversary of my becoming a non-smoker. This month marks the 1 year anniversary of my cutting soda from my diet (almost entirely, but I have faltered from time to time. Even so I can count the number of sodas I’ve had in the past year on my fingers). My new years resolution this year is to cut the Starbucks out of my diet, which will be extremely difficult considering the fact that I work there and I get a free 16oz drink every day that I work! But holy cow am I sick of being fat! I am more motivated than ever and with this weight loss education program helping me I feel like nothing can stop me from getting into shape! Also, I’m only taking 12 credit hours this semester, which is a million times more manageable than 18!

I’m not sure if I’ll post my “before” picture simply because I’m still way too ashamed of my body right now, but perhaps once I’ve made some progress (and grown a pair) I might post it. Reluctantly, I will admit that my weight has reached a staggering 170 (+/-)lbs. I have worn a size 5 in pants my entire adult life, but I now require at least a 12-14 depending on the brand. I’m not proud of this and I’m not really even sure how it happened, but by God I’m putting an end to it!

So wish me luck, words of encouragement are more than welcome, and so are some good juicing recipes (we just got a juicer and we plan on putting it to good use!). Thanks for taking an interest in me!

5 Comments

  1. Mom

    I love you baby and am so proud of you! You are going to do great and this program is going to give you the tools that you need to get the job done right!

  2. drumttocs8

    You got it dude! I’m telling ya, the whole trick is eating every 3 hours or so… something that only the bodybuilding community seems to be aware of. Eat as soon as possible when you wake up, and just graze the rest of the day. Instead of 3 big meals, shoot for 8 small meals/snacks. Giving your body a steady stream of nutrients will increase your metabolism and energy levels, as well as gradually decrease the size of your stomach (the organ!), which will help prevent you from binge eating. Conversely, “diets” which decrease your caloric intake decrease your metabolism, potentially cause health problems from malnutrition, and always, always end in failure.
    Looking forward to following your progress! Remember, don’t punish yourself with diets and exercise; reward yourself with the dopamine release that comes from working out, and eat delicious, good food all day. It’s seriously as simple as that.

  3. Bur

    If it makes you feel any better, when we met, I wore a 30/32 waist, and now I wear a 38/40 depending on the brand. =[ 225 lbs of pure laziness, up 90 lbs. from when we met. I’m trying to eat healthier, too, now. New year, new me, too!

    -Bur

  4. You can totally do it. It’s all in your head, and as long as you are motivated and really want this there is nothing that can hold you back.

    I myself am a serial overeater, and decided enough was enough and decided to do a juice fast to cleanse my body. I am on Day 13 and feeling amazing. So if I can do something so drastic in my life so can you!

    Looking forward to reading about your experiences 🙂

  5. Thanks so much to everyone for all the positive feedback! I love all the positive energy y’all are sending my way, it really means a lot!

Leave a Reply

