Week 10 Response

The piece I chose to respond to this week is called “An Image of My Father” by Charles B. Snoad. It was published on April 1, 2012 in Hippocampus magazine (http://www.hippocampusmagazine.com/2012/04/an-image-of-my-father-by-charles-b-snoad/). Snoad talks about dealing with bouts of severe depression he experienced as a young adult. They occurred when he became concerned about what he wanted to do with his life, and where he wanted to go. In the midst of an outbreak, Snoad found out that his father also suffered from “a schizophrenic break from reality” when he was trying to answer the same question for himself. One particularly powerful part was when he quotes his dad who said “’There’s so much you’re missing,’ he said. ‘Why do you ignore the good in life?’” This just resonated with me a lot because it is so unbelievably easy to do; ignoring the good in life. You don’t even realize you’re doing it, at least I don’t, until something happens that brings it to your attention. I try to remind myself that no matter how bad my life seems to be at any given moment; there is ALWAYS someone, somewhere who has it way worse than I do. But it is so easy to get wrapped up in my own bullshit that I become impervious to the needs of others, to the point where it is shameful. All I can do is realize how badly I have been mistaken, and work to correct the weakness in myself. Getting back to Snoad, I’m not entirely sure, but I think his dad is dead now. He never actually says so, but he says a few things that make it sound like his dad is no longer living. Overall I really enjoyed this piece.

Leave a Reply

