Euthanasia

I know you wouldn’t know it by looking at my posts, but I am a huge poetry fan. I love reading it, I love writing it, I love it. As some of you may know (if you’re in my class and read my 4th workshop essay), I had a dog named Marley growing up and I had to have her put down when I was a freshman in college in the fall of 2007. One year, for Christmas I think, my mom gave me a picture frame with a poem and a picture of Marley just before her death. To this day, I can’t read that fucking poem without crying. Even though it’s not the greatest poem ever written, it just hits home. Eventually, I’m going to write a similar poem, but I think mine will be better. I wanted to share the one my mom gave me with the rest of the world because a lot of people in my class seemed to be able to relate to the pain of losing a family pet. So here it goes:

 

The Last Battle

Author Unknown

 

If it should be that I grow frail and weak,

And pain should keep me from my sleep,

Then will you do what must be done,

For this, the last battle, can’t be won.

You will be sad I understand,

But don’t let grief then stay your hand,

For on this day, more than the rest,

Your love and friendship must stand the test.

We have had so many happy years,

You wouldn’t want me to suffer so.

When the time comes, please, let me go.

Take me to where to my needs they’ll tend,

Only, stay with me till the end

And hold me firm and speak to me,

Until my eyes no longer see.

I know in time you will agree,

It is a kindness you do to me.

Although my tail its last has waved,

From pain and suffering I have been saved.

Don’t grieve that it must be you,

Who has to decide this thing to do;

We’ve been so close, we two, these years,

Don’t let your heart hold any tears.

Leave a Reply

